MONDAY: 9-17-12 The Art of Not Quitting

I didn’t quit – I really wanted to. After a craptastic day at work, an emotional upheaval of a day. I didn’t give up. I fed it, with exercise. I strapped those little weights into the stroller in the rain and we went. 30 minutes, and when I got home, I was drenched, spent, and felt amazingly better. There is pride in not giving up, yes I understand pride is a sin but might as well commit them all, that way I have good fun to discuss when I’m sitting for judgement; usually this is the sort of day where I give into the snacks in the house, but clever me didn’t buy any. Not a bag of chips, no cookies, no chocolate, not even for baking. I gave myself but one thing to fight my urges with, activity. So after I cried a little and made myself go out, I not only did something physically beneficial, but emotionally I chopped into that barrier that says, “Feed me, I’m sad. Feed me, I’m angry. Feed me, I’m lonely”.

 

8 days down 357 to go

Leave a Reply

Follow Progress not Perfection on WordPress.com
Follow Progress not Perfection on WordPress.com
