Rewards

Like children and dogs, adults (well this one at least) are motivated by rewards. Many times we celebrate with a meal – but when rewarding weight loss, food hardly seems to be an appropriate reward. I love having a goal to work toward, knowing when I reach a certain point that there will be a little something to celebrate.

 

<—So I created this, it’s hanging on my refrigerator so when I am tempted to have something I really don’t need I can see how it may impact me reaching my reward.

 

I had to choose things that I like and consider indulgent, things that are a real treat for me. Some of them don’t have any monetary payout, but the emotional reward, the moment of sweet success well to quote Mastercard, priceless.

 

There have been quite a few occasions where I have had my boredom cured by reading them over, nothing tastes as good as success, that feeling of accomplishment…they say nothing tastes as good as skinny feels, I used to believe that (seriously if you haven’t tasted my chocolate butter cream, yeah it’s pretty dam good. hahaha).

 

I state it that way because this isn’t about being skinny, or the rewards. When I consider it, give it serious thought it’s about being enough. Enough for myself. To know that by my discipline I can in fact overcome the demon that is my own personal addiction with food. It’s about being healthy, living a long life that allows me to be the best mother physically that I can be, it’s reaching an old age and not being dependant on a cabinet full of pills and calendar full of medical appointments.

 

It’s a slow and steady journey and I’m taking it one pound at a time, one meal at a time.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Follow Progress not Perfection on WordPress.com
Follow Progress not Perfection on WordPress.com
