The Warrior Dash – June 1, 2013

The Warrior Dash is the world’s largest obstacle race series. The proceeds go to St. Jude, …since that time I had been working out at home, kind of, watching what I ate kind of, I had dedication…kind of. http://www.warriordash.com/

 Once I made that commitment I had something to drive me. I wanted to be able to finish the race and that meant having the endurance for not just running a course but a course covered in mud and obstacles. That is the moment I knew I had better get my butt in gear.

 

 I downloaded a couch to 5K ap for my phone. I used it for a few weeks and then realized I could run more than the program dictated, so I made up my own, Runkeeper allows you to customize how far or how long you want to do a specific task. I started with 4 minutes of running and 90 seconds of walking, then I increased the run times and decreased the walking times; I am very proud that earlier this week I ran two straight miles, I know my dad is shaking his head in confusion as to how me, “flash” is now running regularly. I am eager to see what the Dash on August 10th brings for me, my goal is to finish in under an hour, I know that if I continue to work hard this is an attainable goal. Long term my goal is to run a half marathon next spring.

 

Leave a Reply

Follow Progress not Perfection on WordPress.com
Follow Progress not Perfection on WordPress.com
