Training for a 10K

After reaching my goal of completing the 5K I knew I needed something else between now and the Tough Mudder in October. I spent some time looking for events and came upon the Susan B. Komen Race for the Cure on September 14. I have previously completed the 5K walk for this cause, I know the course goes through downtown Cincinnati, and the Newport/Covington area. I think it’s the perfect opportunity.

The next step was finding a training schedule – it’s only 10 weeks away. Finding this information was easy but all the plans slated for 12 weeks, with 4-6 weeks of pre-training (my goodness a bit redundant right?) however, the “pre-training” involved being a totally beginner, I am a beginner but I don’t need to start at 30-60 sec intervals(how awesome it feels to be able to say that). I have created a plan that helps me grow in my endurance in the time I have, leading up to the weeks before are runs from 2.5 miles to 7 miles, coincidentally my goal for the Mudder was 8-10 so I will be ready for that as well.

When I spoke with my main athletic supporter I conveyed that some of this training I cannot do on my lunch hour, so I will have to spend some of my evenings and weekends devoted to this challenge – he is on board with me and has promised to be there when I cross the finish line this time!

70 days of work ahead and I will be one year older by the time it comes – my goal is to finish in under an hour and forty-five minutes.

So let’s lace ’em up and head on out day 1 is today 3 miles at lunch.

Give a little snap to the my athletic supporter as he took his tenny-bops (as he calls them) to work today so he can walk on his lunch…ripple in effect.

 

Leave a Reply

Follow Progress not Perfection on WordPress.com
Follow Progress not Perfection on WordPress.com
