What To Do With Injury Depression

I went to the podiatrist this week, finally, pretty sure that the knee pain that has flared up is a result of overcompensation for my foot and my suspicion of plantar fasciitis was confirmed. The Dr. did a ultrasound and gave me an anti-inflammatory injection (which by the way hurt A LOT), gave me some exercises to stretch the muscle and my Achilles tendon, and a night splint to wear but that didn’t fit my leg so I have not been able to utilize it.

Now what?

Since early October I have really been depressed about not being able to go at the pace I want to, I have been frustrated that I set a goal and I get out and go, to feel my body telling me to stop, my head telling it to hush, my heart breaking because I am so afraid that compromise will lead to a total stoppage. I have cried and fed my sadness that revolves around this internal struggle, to a physical condition; my mental well being right now relies heavily on my exercise and weight loss success, with other facets of my life not in line I need this to hold me together.

This morning laying in bed, after a horrid night sleep, feeling tension in my shoulder, my lower back, feeling like a failure…but I shouldn’t.

 

My progress is still good, just stalled; injury does not mean stopping, it means finding another way. 

 

 

My success in the past didn’t include running,  I know that I can do it outside of that one activity.

I choose, to make this a change for life.

I accept that in life there are setbacks.

I believe that setbacks are temporary.

I love myself enough to not give up.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Follow Progress not Perfection on WordPress.com
Follow Progress not Perfection on WordPress.com
