Yoga, Pilates, Barre, and more!!!

The winter has definitely hit hard, it makes getting in activity a little more challenging. Admittedly I have been lazy, the grey dreary skies have never been a friend of mine, and this cold…well don’t get me started, spring training is only a few short days away which means spring is near as well.


I have recently been inspired by a woman who I have known since I was 4 or 5 years old. She has been participating in an Instagram challenge for January posting the most amazing yoga poses. So I messaged her and I went to my first yoga and barre class this past Sunday morning at Full Body Yoga & Fitness http://www.fullbodyyoganky.com/. Let me say…ahhhmmmmazing! The class that I took was the Slow Flow, geared toward all ability levels, thank goodness because being a beginner at anything is a struggle for me, I want to be right, right away. Oddly enough this was a very comfortable newbie experience, I could feel the connection to my martial arts training and my body easily accepted what I was doing, and at the end, my entire back released and felt better than it has in months. I am signed up already for several other sessions this week. 


The Barre class was something totally foreign to me, I am not a “ballet” type but I have heard such good things about the workout I had to try it. My arms, legs and rear can testify that it was a workout and then some, add that to the squat challenge I am in with my Weight Watchers ladies the temptation to run when I got home was quickly put to rest, though I did consider it.


My hope is that I gain some strength and flexibility and maybe a little of that inner peace we all search for, to tone my jiggly spots back to where they belong, to let my foot heal and when outdoor running season is upon me (please hurry warm weather) I will get up to speed quickly, pun intended. 

 What we steadily, consciously, habitually think we are, that we tend to become

 

Leave a Reply

Follow Progress not Perfection on WordPress.com
Follow Progress not Perfection on WordPress.com
