Healing and Goals

HEALING

Well it has been 18 days since my last run, it what a tough mile was, that mile I decided it was time to listen to my body and to give my foot a few weeks off.  I have been wearing super practical (unattractive) shoes, with inserts, ice packs and castor oil heated wraps (thanks to the tip from my cousin Sara).

 

Self  Prognosis: I think I am on the road to recovery; combine all of that with my new love of yoga and practicing this pose (toes pressed to the wall) my faciatis muscle (seen to the right here), has been stretched slowly. I no longer wake up in crippling pain. Tonight I am going to go an easy mile (maybe 3), not focused on speed, but completing the activity. I plan to follow my run up with a Slow Flow class that always helps me sleep a little better because of it’s late start time.

 

GOALS

I have lofty goals for 2014.

1) Meet MY goal weight – 175#

2) Run a half marathon (maybe 2)

3) Win my age division in August at the library run

4) Aid my daughters in better food decisions

 I had to be realistic and remove the 15K I had planned for March, I don’t want to push too hard, risk straining my foot with a super aggressive training plan and not make the half in May. A 10K by then is a more attainable goal . I am lucky that I am not starting where I was last year, I know that I can go out right now and run 4 miles, may not be pretty but I know I can do it.

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. weight2lose2013
    Apr 05, 2014 @ 00:56:13

    I would love to do yoga! I have to make the time for it. 🙂 Seems like we have similar struggles and only one solution – to keep moving forward!

    Rob

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow Progress not Perfection on WordPress.com
Follow Progress not Perfection on WordPress.com
