Competition

I am an incredibly competitive person.

I hate to lose.

I love having a goal to push toward.

 

Last weekend I went back to Weight Watchers after two weeks of using My Fitness Pal; results, personally I lost 3.2#, for WW I lost 1#. So it was a success and I really like the tracking aspect much better than the WW ap – I feel that tracking calories and being accountable for everything eaten is not only a better method, but makes me think more before I consume anything. Had I been totally honest and tracked every single day of the 14 I would have lost more.

 

When I arrived home I started the fun task of cleaning out my closet of the winter items, some of which I am going to be donating next fall because they are too big, and as I looked through things from last summer I notice that some garments still fit and some do not – they are too tight.

 

Then like many women do, I dared myself to stand in front of our mirror naked and take an honest look at what I saw.

 

I often think about the difference between what I see and what my husband sees, what other people see, and I looked again.

Conclusion: The only opinion that means anything is my own. If I don’t like it, no showering of compliments or criticisms is going to make any difference, and the mirror needed some Windex.

 

So why then do I make myself feel like I am competing against women in their 20’s, who haven’t had kids, or have more time to work out, etc… the competition shouldn’t be with any of those outside forces!!

 

Reality Check: I am never going to be in my 20’s again, I am never going to have the body I did before kids, it’s not likely that I will ever have the time to give a few hours for working out a day, or hours a day to plan and cook the perfect meals. But, what I do have is an idea in my head of what I want, and how I can make that happen

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. weight2lose2013
    Apr 02, 2014 @ 19:18:08

    I totally agree with your conclusion. It’s one of those things that requires you to do it for you. I get it with the competition thing as well. It’s human nature, I suppose, to want to look and feel young. Which leads me to your reality check: again, I am in agreement. Part of my reluctance to go to the gym are the 20 somethings and there fashion shows at the gym. Guys do the mirror thing too. It was one of the wake up calls for me. Not happy what I had seen and thought it was time to do something about it. I do progress photos to keep me on the straight and narrow, although lately I’ve been wobbling about that road and need to get back on track.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow Progress not Perfection on WordPress.com
Follow Progress not Perfection on WordPress.com
