It’s Official – Half Marathon Training Has Begun

Saturday I officially added a half marathon training program to my Run Keeper. When I signed up for the Queen Bee I counted the weeks I had until then and knew that the weekend of the 15th was the time to begin. It’s 16 weeks with 4 runs a week, I will probably still do my 5-6, I need that for my sanity.  The program has a lofty goal of completing this 13.1 mile journey in 2 hours and 15 minutes, I will be very happy with anything under 2-1/2 hours.

Sunday was designated as the first day, and a rest day at that, but I went out both Saturday and Sunday logging 10 miles, 7 of the 10 were under 12 minutes! I felt really good about that, it took me most of last year to get to 11:22 as my average pace, experience and passion has helped me get there a little quicker this year.

My feet feel good, my legs felt strong, I am not in love with my new shoes so there is research and fitting to be done on that front.

Yesterday was a rest day, I could feel that I needed it. I was in the Dollar Store getting ice, I had on this new dress I gifted myself (I will admit it looks dam good on me), she said:

Lady: “You must have been at the pool today!’

Me: “Um nope”

Laday: “Oh, tanning bed!”

Me: “Nope.”

Lady: “Well you are very tan.”

Me: ” Yes ma’am, I am a runner, I run a lot.”

Lady: “Oh that’s nice, I walk five miles a week! That’s a lot!”

Me: “That is and it’s so good for you! Congratulations. I run 20-25 miles a week.”

Lady: <silence>

I just smiled and she paid and left. I know by many runners what I log a week isn’t that much, for me it’s an accomplishment every day.

images

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jason
    Jun 18, 2014 @ 18:14:54

    Nice! I like that you ran on Sunday even though it was a rest day 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow Progress not Perfection on WordPress.com
Follow Progress not Perfection on WordPress.com
