12 miles and Sliding into Om

Saturday 4 am, pull self from warm cozy bed.

12 miles planned, a daunting thought to me. I have done 10 several times this year, but 12 seems like so much more. I decided on this early run time because the humidity has been so thick, I can handle the heat, I love to feel “hot” but hot and damp is just brutal. It was cool as I deposited water at my two-mile markers and started out the first lap of 3. The first 4 miles I felt really slow but when I made it back to the beginning I was very pleased with just a touch over 44 minutes, as much as I’d like it to be closer to 40 I know if I push it too hard I will injure myself or leave nothing for the last few miles; I felt good. The second 4 miles I did two out and two back just to make it a little different and add in more hills, a pit stop at the Speedway and I hit a wall. 8 miles in and I wanted to be done. I knew at that point I had two choices, run the opposite direction of my car forcing myself to finish or toward my car and potentially giving up when I got to it in lieu of going one more lap. Opposite it was. I headed down HWY 18 following what I know will be part of the Honor half marathon in November, taking a couple of loops around the mall and then heading back, my watch died so I had to use Runkeeper on my phone for the last bit but I know I was within .1 of the 12 miles. Feeling accomplished and proud that I didn’t give up, my reward was heading down to Great American Ballpark where I participated in their “Sliding into Om” promotional event.

It’s no secret that I love baseball, it’s a very special part of my life and my relationship with my father so when I learned photo 1of this oppophoto 2rtunity I had to do it! Admittedly it was a little emotional, I have been on the field before but only the warning track and in the dugout. The view from the field is almost as amazing as from the stands. I unrolled my mat and slipped off my shoes, my feet so tired. Clenching the grass with my toes I could feel the dampness that still clung to the thick, sturdy blades and the  clean smell I associate with grass. People trailed in up until the last moment and then we spread out and the class began.  A new instructor brings a new perspective on my practice. There was music in the background and I felt the benefit of this post-run. My hamstring tenderness was eased as did the tension I have been having in my right shoulder. I got a glimpse of myself on the big screen; before I knew it the hour was up. Next year I will take the girls with me, there were several littles in attendance and I think they would have really enjoyed it.

 

Leave a Reply

Follow Progress not Perfection on WordPress.com
Follow Progress not Perfection on WordPress.com
