Zucchini Pizza

I love pizza. Every gooey, cheesy, thick crusted bite of fatty deliciousness, really – who doesn’t? It’s one of our goto dinners, especially with our commute and not getting home most evenings until 6 or later, it makes meal prep the last thing I want to do. Plus, everyone will eat pizza without any fuss. Now pizza and weight loss rarely go in hand – every food plan will say indulge occasionally with a slice of pizza. Who eats one slice? Let’s be realistic it’s more like 3-4, I honestly just like cheese but as a compromise we usually get some kind of meat and a veggie. I know I can add a salad and make it healthier, but it’s pizza. So in an effort to make pizza healthier I looked for some alternatives and last night I made this: Zucchini Crust pizza. The prep was super easy – I shredded 4 small zucchini in my food processor in the morning and let it drain in strainer bowl (Pampered Chef nested colander and bowl set FTW). The mixed it with one large egg, 1/2 cup shaved Parmesan cheese and 1 cup grated mozzarella. The sauce is just a tomato sauce.  I decided to keep it simple this first time (in case it wasn’t so great we didn’t waste a bunch of toppings).  The crust I baked for about 30 minutes until it was golden at the edges, then we added the toppings.

The proof was in the taste test, it was very good and with some toppings it would be a very satisfying dinner, I am thinking chicken, basil and mushrooms. 50% of my children asked me to make it again and the other 50% asked for skeby-o’s with meatballs. I call it a win.

 

photo

Zucchini Crust pizza

 

Leave a Reply

Follow Progress not Perfection on WordPress.com
Follow Progress not Perfection on WordPress.com
