Hudepohl 14K Brewery Run

The Hudepohl 14K is the third leg in the Brew Hog series promoted by the Flying Pig marathon group here in Cincinnati. The 8.8 miles takes the runner past the historic sites of the breweries that once filled our city. Starting near the Ohio River behind the Christian Moreline Lager House and wrapping up behind Great American Ballpark.

I was blessed with a very mild morning, in Cincinnati, roughly 65 degrees at start time on the river. I had decided that this event I would try something new, I was going to start at the back of the pack instead of the middle. I find the enthusiasm and motivation of the middle of the pack intoxicating but to my own detriment as I try to keep up with that group, burn up the first mile or two and end up exhausted before I reach the end. By placing myself at the rear of the field I gave myself the chance to come out at a slower pace, one that I can maintain saving my energy for the last mile; to my credit this worked beautifully. At each mile marker I glanced at my watch to see that I was where I wanted to be, not knowing the elevation of course ahead of time I only had one mile that was over my desired pace and it was pretty much all uphill, but I didn’t stop I pushed myself and was ever so thankful when I reached the top. As the playlist, thoughts of my daughters, and my self-love pushed me to the finish, I stopped my watch as I crossed the finish mat as I usually do with tears in my eyes, 1:45:16. My goal was to run the distance and for my pace to be under 12/mile. Done and done.

Three weeks until the Queen Bee, this next Saturday will be my final long run as I being to taper after that. My body feels good, aside from needing a shower, breakfast and a nap Saturday I didn’t have any pain or discomfort. I have prepared for this all summer and I CANNOT WAIT!!!IMG_2822

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Follow Progress not Perfection on WordPress.com
Follow Progress not Perfection on WordPress.com
