What my Teeth are telling me…

First off it’s 4am-ish and I have been awake for a few hours, I find myself lost in thought about my dental visit yesterday, and in discomfort from the cleaning. So what about a trip to the dentist has my mind reeling? I love the dentist, smooth, orange flavored, polished teeth; correction, I usually love it. Not so much this time. Since finding my dream dentist, and no hems not dreamy like the dentist in That Thing You Do, but the hygienist is friendly and they are a no BS group. I have little tolerance for BS, however as I write this I snicker because I am a master of it myself; oh right the dentist (whew had a moment there). She x-rays my head and says, “wow I see some changes!” Insert bad feeling in response to that comment. It’s been 18 months, I know because the last time I was there it was my 37th birthday, I got a new drivers license, I had on my all time favorite Lumineers t-shirt. She looks, the dentist looks, they communicate in numbers and letter pairings that I don’t understand, yet with all the money I have put into my mouth I should know, my hope for this visit was to plan the bleaching of a tooth I had a root canal in high school after being hit in the face by a ball lost in the sun. He asks me, “What habit had changed? You are doing something different.” Begin thinking….I’ve cut back on pop and gum, I exercise more, I eat better in general….I have a far too intimate relationship with antacids? “That’s it!” He exclaims. You have some kind of acid reflux, that with the acid you get naturally from food has put you in need of (ready) 4 crowns! GULP. I know that cost…$3800.00 before insurance best part, my dentist is out-of-network (the service is totally worth it). My share roughly $2000.00. There isn’t anything I can do about the damage done. I don’t want to lose my teeth (insert rude joke about living in Ky and being a toothless hillbilly). He suggested I see my GP ( who I HATE, stress that) about having acid reflux.

Whoa….nope. I know what causes it, so now I have to manage it. Here’s the plan for the next six months:

No soda of any kind, water and sparkling water only.
No gum or candy, beware people it’s not gonna be pretty.
OTC acid controller for a month.
Crest Pro-Health Complete toothpaste and rinse (dentist recommendation) 3x a day and more religious flossing.

The benefits will not just be in my mouth but overall health, I’ve been wanting to kick the soda habit and this is the catalyst I needed. I have a thing for clean, pretty teeth. I’ve been wanting braces but waiting for the financial load to lighten a little, that remains on the back burner.

Leave a Reply

Follow Progress not Perfection on WordPress.com
Follow Progress not Perfection on WordPress.com
