Fabulous and 40

Well it  happened people. I turned 40 this week. I have been dreading this since I turned 39, no idea why. I started my birthday smiling at being at peace with myself. A friend sent me a message and reminded me that in the past year I have overcome some prettt difficult inner demons and looking ahead with a postive attitude and a full heart made more sense than and attitude of defeat and dread. I thought about that a lot, why was 40 bothering me? I don’t feel “middle age” (and yes I recieved 3 text messages welcoming me to middle age), I don’t think I look “middle age” (or I am lied to alot), I definitely have days I feel it. I invested in some self reflection and fell asleep for a few hours before greeting the morning and my beautiful girls. No one at work knew it was my birthday, so I avoided the dreaded birthday cake. I had lunch with the husband, picked up cupcakes – which melted before we ate them, finished my work day out and headed to get a tattoo – only one of two things I wanted. My sister sat with me as we added to my right sleeve; I almost fell asleep. My night ended with my girls having cookies and ice cream. It was really the most perfect day. 

I have been running pretty much just on the weekends, school starts next week and I am planning on pre-work runs so we are on time daily. The rest of 2016 is dedicated to getting back on a regular regime, a solid clean food plan, strenghtening my body for next year and dropping 40-50#.

I plan on the following:

Heart mini 15k

Flying Pig Half

Redlegs 10K

Fourth of July 5K (33 min goal)

Honorrun Half

Thanksgiving Day 10K

I realize that recovery is a slow and difficult journey, its humbling and educational.  I’ve said all of this several times, through repition however we reinforce our goals. The remainder of this year I am working toward the Honorrun half Nov 13th, I’d like to see a 2:45 finish or less, but being able to train dedicatedly and complete the course is the real goal.  

This morning I had my second back to back run – in fact less than 12 hrs apart. So far I feel pretty good, my ankle isnt tight or swollen. I am going to try for a third day tomorrow and then a day off Monday. I know how my body feels when I run 5-6 days a week, I need that. 

Leave a Reply

Follow Progress not Perfection on WordPress.com
Follow Progress not Perfection on WordPress.com
